AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Carpenters In The Forehead/Sorry PDF Print E-mail
AppEd - Opinions and Editorials - AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Written by Jeff Davis   
Tuesday, 23 September 2008 09:37

 

CARPENTERS IN THE FOREHEAD/ Sorry

"Sorry seems to be the hardest word." Elton John

 

Why does it seem to be so difficult to say that you are sorry, especially when you have really messed up in the worst kind of way?  Minor transgressions against your fellow human beings are one thing, but when you are talking about the basest of immoral behavior having been allowed to go on for an unbelievable amount of time, it needs to be addressed.  A radical attitude adjustment, one might say.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 22:25
Read more...
 
Election Siamese Twins, A Political Opinion PDF Print E-mail
AppEd - Opinions and Editorials - AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Written by Jeff Davis   
Saturday, 04 October 2008 12:14

Election Siamese Twins, A Political Opinion

A very bizarre election campaign it is. For the first time in the history of our national elections, the Vice-presidential candidate is not permitted to campaign apart from her running-mate. In every election in the past, the person running for V.P. would be out on the hustings, criss-crossing the country and giving speeches and interviews. But in the current election it has been decided by Republican political handlers to keep Sarah Palin conjoined at the hip with John McCain, keeping her at a safe distance from the scrutiny of an inquiring press.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 22:28
Read more...
 
Age of Consumerism PDF Print E-mail
AppEd - Opinions and Editorials - AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Thursday, 25 September 2008 20:49
 

The Age of Consumerism

by Veronica Mingolleli

 

In the September 8th edition of The American Conservative, Andrew Bacevich explores what he calls “the Jeffersonian trinity” by which he meant the inalienable rights to “life, liberty and pursuit of happiness” in the Declaration of Independence. Judging from American life today, we view having cable TV, shopping at Wal-Mart for gewgaws made in China and having a job that doesn’t require too much of us as our modern Jeffersonian trinity.

Last Updated on Thursday, 25 September 2008 21:24
Read more...
 
The neon lights of Home PDF Print E-mail
AppEd - Opinions and Editorials - AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Written by Richard Kerns   
Wednesday, 24 September 2008 01:22

9.24.08

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

 

This weekend past, footsteps conveyed to Main Street, and an old friend all dolled up for Saturday night.

 Richard Kerns

I don’t have much occasion to walk downtown at night. Closest I usually get is a dash across Main to Lucky’s and a quick chat with the friendly and informed proprietor, swing down through the Library lot, and happily back up Mechanic to the Crest of West, happier still for the Keystone or fine wine, boxed, that awaits.

 

One day, more years ago than I can recall, my infernal Uncle Butch got it in his intoxicated head that he would drive east on West Mechanic, by God, down over the hill, which runs one-lane, one-way all the way up, Water ...

Last Updated on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 23:37
Read more...
 
Carpenters In The Forehead/Gas prices PDF Print E-mail
AppEd - Opinions and Editorials - AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Written by Jeff Davis   
Tuesday, 23 September 2008 09:30

CARPENTERS IN THE FOREHEAD

“Oil is the greatest problem of all time—the great polluter and promoter of terror. We should get rid of it.” Shimon Peres

Hey! We’re allowed to be whiners if we choose. Who the heck does that Phil Gramm (former adviser to John McCain) think he is, making disparaging comments about our citizenry being cry-babies? Our nature is like all the other human inhabitants on earth, and that human nature causes us to get upset and complain about things that directly affect us and over which we feel we have no control.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 22 October 2008 22:29
Read more...
 
«StartPrev5152535455565758NextEnd»

Page 58 of 58
 
Webappindie.org

What's Happening?