AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Carpenters In The Forehead/ It's Time To Call For A Snake-Charmer-Wallah PDF Print E-mail
AppEd - Opinions and Editorials - AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Written by Jeff Davis   
Friday, 13 July 2012 08:48

Snake_charmer_jeff    What’s going on out here in Garrett County?  It’s about time to call in a snake-charmer-wallah.

 Okay, I know it’s nothing more than a coincidence, but I can’t help feeling a tad paranoid over the repeated sightings of serpents out here in the hinterlands of Garrett County. 

Last Updated on Monday, 30 July 2012 16:49
Read more...
 
Carpenters In The Forehead/ The Affordable Health Care Act, Part 1 PDF Print E-mail
AppEd - Opinions and Editorials - AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Written by Jeff Davis   
Wednesday, 11 July 2012 14:04

 

Carpenter_2   The recent Supreme Court decision upholding the basic tenets of the Affordable Health Care Act (commonly known as Obamacare) was a welcome relief to anyone who advocates for the approximately thirty million Americans currently lacking health insurance.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 14:13
Read more...
 
Carpenters In The Forehead/ The Chauvinist Old Men Try To Exert Their Control (Once Again) PDF Print E-mail
AppEd - Opinions and Editorials - AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Written by Jeff Davis   
Friday, 22 June 2012 11:19

Carpenter_2  Carpenters In The Forehead/  The Chauvinist Old Men Try To Exert Their Control (Once Again)

Dear Cardinal Levada:  I am writing to you because I have an urgent need to know how to be a good Catholic.  I am twenty-eight years old and want oh so much to believe everything that the Pope and you wonderful Cardinals tell us, but I am suffering from a big-time case of pelvic congestion, and if I don’t get some answers, like, real soon, I think that I will burst.

Last Updated on Friday, 22 June 2012 11:25
Read more...
 
Carpenters In The Forehead/ "We'd Sure Love To Have Y'All Come Down: Bigotry Is Alive & Well" PDF Print E-mail
AppEd - Opinions and Editorials - AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Written by Jeff Davis   
Saturday, 19 May 2012 20:30

Carpenter_2  Carpenters In The Forehead/ “We’d Sure Love To Have Y’all Come Down:  Bigotry Is Alive & Well In The South”

Hey, you good folks up above the Mason-Dixon line, or for that matter, anywheres youse guys and gals think just like us, us good ole boys and ladies down here in the gallant South:  A great big hoopin’ hollerin’ hello to you!

If yur lookin’ for a better way of life, hop in your Ramcharger, preferably the one with the Confederate flag on the back window, turn onto Interstate 95, rev up that engine just like they do on the racetrack, and head on down here, like now.

If you think like we do, then the place for you is right here where the cotton and tobaccy grow.  Where white men are still itchin’ to be in charge, and all others ...

Last Updated on Wednesday, 23 May 2012 20:52
 
Beating the Recession: Three Ways Local Businesses Can Compete with Wal-Mart PDF Print E-mail
AppEd - Opinions and Editorials - AppEd - Opinions and Editorials
Written by Jonathan Shadel   
Wednesday, 23 May 2012 07:08

Before the onset of the 2008 recession, things seemed to be looking up for business owners in Cumberland, Maryland, a city that has, according to the US Census, one of the lowest per-capita incomes in the nation. The Queen City had been looking to tourism and arts-related businesses to revitalize its community, but, as the economy grew increasingly worse, local residents watched many small businesses hang “Closed” signs in their windows.

Once hoped to be the center of Cumberland’s economic revival, the walking mall on Baltimore Street, with its many empty storefronts, is now a vivid example of the current business environment in small cities.

It’s true that the Great Recession has negatively affected small business in cities like Cumberland. Yet the problem ...

 
«StartPrev12345678910NextEnd»

Page 9 of 58
 
Webappindie.org

What's Happening?